The Presbyterians began holding church services in their homes in the early 1840's under the leadership of a missionary. About 1850, they began holding services in the new school house. In those days there were two branches of Presbyterians know as the Old Kirk and the Free Kirk. The congregation of the Free Kirk built a white frame church on Edward Street in 1857 to seat 200 people with the first minister, Rev. John Whyte. The Old Kirk erected a brick building on Tucker Street in 1864 that would seat 336. These two congregations united in 1874 and St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church in Arthur was organized. The lot on Tucker Street was later occupied by the manse built around 1907. The building on Edward Street was sold to the Baptists. The new St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church opened in 1899 on Frederick Street at a cost of almost $10,000. St. Andrew's has always maintained an excellent Sunday School, the Missionary Society, an active Ladies Group and large Choir. With updates and renovations to the original building, a lift has been added to make the sanctuary as well as the basement hall fully accessible. In 1960, a memorial gift of a fine Schulmerick Carillon was added. It's distinct sound adds a certain unique character to the village.
A small town feel with the heart of Jesus leading us.
Our Service time is 11 am on Sundays.